Skip to Main Content

Graduate School

Graduate Council

Graduate Council Image

The Graduate School provides a framework for supporting excellence in graduate research, scholarship, teaching, and mentorship in accordance with Columbus State University's mission and consistent with the mission of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

The Graduate School is administered by a Graduate School Director who is assisted by a representative body, the Graduate Council. Among its other responsibilities, the Graduate Council approves new and revised graduate programs and certificates, develops policies and processes related to graduate studies, and reviews and approves faculty for teaching at the graduate level.

The Graduate Council meetings are usually held on the 2nd Friday of each month at 12:00pm in the VPAA conference room.

Graduate Council Membership 2019-2020

Year 3

Kevin Burgess, COLS, Chair
Shamim Khan, TCOB, Secretary
John Finley, TCOB
Saoussan Maarouf, COEHP
Tammy Condrey, COEHP (Past Chair)

Year 2

Lisa Oberlander, COA

Year 1

Brian Tyo, COEHP
Kimberly Gill, COLS
Ryan Lynch, COLS

Ex-Officio Members:
Dr. Tim Howard, SACSCOS Liaison
Dr. Margie Yates
Ms. Kristin Williams, Graduate Admission Liaison

Meeting Dates and Minutes


Graduate Council Bylaws Revised 7-16-2015 (PDF)

Graduate Council Archives